JR's Solsylva 25x37 Router Build

Thread: JR's Solsylva 25x37 Router Build

Registered
    Downloads
    Uploads

Exclamation JR's Solsylva 25x37 Router Build

Hello to all CNCZone menbers....

An absolute novice here, attempting to build first cnc router.

Recently bought David Steels' plan book and decided to build the 25" x 37" table as per plan but with a few minor modifications. Being in the UK the plans had to converted to metric. Hence, the following thread sizes were to be used; M8 for the lead screws, M6 for the tie rods, M5, M4 for the No.10 UNC and No.8 UNC, respectively. What really confused me with the plans was that the sizes stated in the material list were not those actually used. The sizes stated were the rough sawn sizes, NOT the finished planed sized actually used! Not best practice here in the UK!

1) Decide to use well seasoned Beech for all the wooden parts.
    2) Make my own all-thread coupler from brass.
    3) Use Stainless steel 304 grade tubing for the rails
    4) Use stainless A2 grade all-thread rod.
    5) Build own driver boards as per Aaron Gargber's design for steppers of up to 3A per phase.

Any comments as to the materials and minor mods?

Kindest regards, John R.

Similar Threads:

Downloads
    Uploads

Welcome John R.,

Here in the US the lumber sizes are standardized, but just not the standard dimension that is marked. A 1 x 4 is really 3/4" x 3-1/2". But even that varies 1/8" due to the high speed way that construction lumber is milled.

I'm using premium cabinet grade clear red oak that is square edged (not rounded) and is dimensionally very accurate. We can buy similar boards of poplar that is lower cost than the red oak. Oak is stiffer and looks better.

David's plans have no errors that I have found. Some of the upgrades like 1/2" lead screws will require you to make the shaft holes larger or possibly shift the position of the shaft hole slightly if you use anti-backlash nuts.